Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday



Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.


This week's pick: Beautiful Days by Anna Godbersen (the sequel to Bright Young Things

Due out: September 20, 2011.


Book Description from Goodreads:


In this must-have sequel to Bright Young Things, Cordelia and Letty are small-town girls no longer. Letty is ready at last to chase her Broadway dreams. Cordelia thought she lost her true love, but a chance meeting will change her fortune—and her future. The unflappable flapper Astrid Donal has promised herself to Charlie Grey, Cordelia’s half-brother, but isn’t sure their love is true enough to survive. And a bitter rivalry will ensnare them all in a dangerous feud played out in the speakeasies of Manhattan and on the great lawns of Long Island. As these bright young things live out their beautiful days in the summer of 1929, they find romance and heartbreak, adventure and intrigue, new friends and unexpected rivals. Fans of The Luxe series, A Great and Terrible Beauty, Martin Scorsese’s hit HBO series Boardwalk Empire, and, of course, The Great Gatsby, will delight in the Jazz Age setting, a time when girls were enjoying newfound freedom and excitement could be found behind any door in Manhattan.

4 comments:

Jan von Harz said...

Still need to read the first in this series, but I love the cover of this and will certainly be wanting it too.

Christina / Book Addict said...

Bright Young Things was a lot of fun and I am looking forward to this sequel as well. Great pick!

Vy (Vy's Blog) said...

I haven't read Bright Young Things yet but I do love both of the covers :D I

Christy @TheReaderBee said...

Awesome WoW pick! I still haven't started this series... I really need to do that ASAP!! :)

Great blog! I'm a new follower!